Cuckoo and skylarks

They made up for the drizzle and chill factor. 

When I planned my outfits, the temperatures weren’t supposed to be winter jacket weather so I had to layer up carefully in what I had available. My arm warmers were over the top of my layers so as not to constrict blood flow! I might have looked a little peculiar but first off, I didn't really care, plus I didn’t see another cyclist until 4 miles from home and by that stage my windproof was on for the 10 mile descent.

It’s a shame there was no blue sky around because the ride was tremendous and the scenery would have been alight with some sun. The skylarks were still singing though and the permanent drizzle I started with changed to half hourly waves. I was glad of that.

Both hills were long but pleasant and on tired legs, I knew I’d be thankful of the downhill finale. That’s where I heard the cuckoo, looked up and saw his outline in a bare hawthorn tree against the sky not so far away. At this point, there were willow warblers singing in every other tree as I made my way down. 

I’ve been eating and drinking hot peppermint tea almost constantly since I’ve been back, braved the shower (which was actually brilliant) and now have Beryl’s mini drying room going. 

That just leaves time for more eating and drinking and dreaming about me day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.