A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Inquiring Minds

On this rainy Sunday, I pondered one of life’s mysteries, specifically gardening life. It’s a mystery that continues to baffle me, but I guess that’s why it’s a mystery. Here, follow along:

Daffodils are Narcissus.
Jonquils are Narcissus.
All Jonquils are Daffodils,
but not all Daffodils are Jonquils,
yet both are Amaryllis.

(how are you doing? are you with me so far?)

So, how does one tell the difference between a Daffodil and a Jonquil? Please, read on:

Daffodils have sword-tipped foliage.
Jonquils have slender leaves that are rounded at the tip.
Jonquil stems are shorter, and hollow, and grow in yellow hues.
Daffodils come in a variety of colors.
Jonquils sprout more than one flower per stem.
Daffodils grow only one flower per stem.
Daffodils have wide flat leaves.
Jonquils have more leaves, but are darker in color.

(would you agree that daffodils and jonquils are also narcissists?)

Based on the above, I believe my blip is of two jonquils?!? Please let me know!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.