Hart's Tongue And Insects

We have a hart's tongue fern growing out of the wall of one of our disused glasshouses. I love the young fern fiddleheads. It is is said that these plants are indicators of ancient woodland. When I first came here I listed all the species in our hedges, the wide variety in them also is an indicator. 

Another good day for bugs. I've been searching for my favourite acorn weevil for weeks and was delighted to find one today. Its big eyes don't show up as well as they usually do because the gingery scales on the insect's head have worn off revealing its dark cuticle.  I've included a wasp beetle and Ischnomera cyanea, one of the false blister beetles. I wonder what the beetle is that has been embroidered onto Queen Camilla's Robe of Estate? My male St Mark's fly is a few days late, the saint's day is the 25th April. I wasn't surprised to spot a common carpet moth as its larvae feed on bedstraw which grows in our field. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.