pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

End games

Following yesterday’s blow-up, I think my sleep had been affected as it was most definitely not a restful night’s kip.

Prising my eyes open, I had my first cup of tea of the day and got m’boy together for his final football match of the season. The rain was quite heavy in Kendal, so I did wonder for a moment if the game would be called off, but fortunately it wasn’t quite as bad in Sedbergh where the match was taking place.

He was looking forward to this one as the Sedbergh team were second bottom (to his team) in the league, so he thought that they would have a better chance of getting a result today, but unfortunately it wasn’t quite to be and they lost 3-1. It was an odd one as they’d played better and lost by more in previous games, regardless, I’ve been really impressed with the attitude of him and his teammates and the way they have continued to press on despite some heavy losses in their first season. I’m sure they’ll come back stronger next season!

We hurried back and showered up before LadyV and her girls arrived and we all headed off for lunch at my sister’s place. It was great fun and not quite as manic as you might think. A few hours had passed in the blink of an eye and the eating of much cake and snacks. For the most part, the children all played brilliantly together, with m’nephew on particularly good, cute and un-snotty form! I think it was just what was needed for me and mine after the nonsense of yesterday.

I was pleased to get this snap as it may prove to be the last time that The Eldest is officially allowed at the children's table.

With m’nephew deciding to forego his nap and running on fumes, we decided that it was time to leave and let my sister put her house back together. Keen to make the most of our time together, LadyV’s mob came back to ours for some more play and a light tea. Reluctantly, we let them go home in the early evening and finished our viewing of Age of Ultron, which the wee ones really enjoyed.

What a difference a day (and a shed load of good food and company) makes.


Oh, and no: I have no idea why The Youngest is pulling that face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.