While on my runs

By waipushrink

Solo swim as dark approaches

A fruitful day at work by the end of which the rain (which had again heavy and persistent on the way to work) was only a bad memory. It was more than that on the Coromandel Peninsula. Slips had closed a number of roads, and it was still raining.

Chose to stop at Western Springs for a walk in daylight. The traffic would have slowed my trip home enough to consign me to a walk in the dark. By the end of my circuit of Western Springs Lake, there was only just enough light for the last photo.

This is not the first photo this year of a Weweia (Dabchick). On last week's walk at The Springs, I had only blurred images of the two weweia I saw. This one was on its own as far as I could see. And having seen me it was swimming fast for the other side of one of the smaller lakes.

I've added an extra photo. There were three young mallard drakes swimming together (in the same lake as the weweia), each showing the same deformity (known as Angel Wing Disease). Their colouration was also abnormal, with much more white. One of the major contributors to this deformity is the consumption of bread in the water. There are multiple signs around the lakes discouraging visitors from feeding bread to the waterfowl. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.