helenann

By helenann

Cowslips and Concerts

Today has been very warm and sunny, which rather  took us by surprise.
The cowslips in our "lawn " have reached their peak. 

The annual Winchester Chamber Music Festival is taking place this weekend.This  afternoon, we took my Mum with us to a concert at a local church given by the festival string quartet and  Lumas Winds, with the  tenor, James Gilchrist, and  pianist / composer Huw Watkins. It was very good, and included Poulenc's Sextet for Winds and Piano,  Vaughan Williams' "On Wenlock Edge", and  Huw Watkins'  Piano  Quartet.
Afterwards we sat in the garden at the care home with my Mum, talking to another  resident who has had an interesting life in music. I feel that, at last, the  new life for my Mother which  I had envisaged for her when we first started planning her move six months ago, is unfolding. 

This evening, Martin and I attended another Festival concert, this time of Celtic and  Eastern European folk music, arranged and led by fiddler Donald Grant, which we enjoyed. We particularly liked the Celtic music reminding us of trips to the North  West of Scotland .  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.