West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Its all Greek to me!!!

I was fortunate enough to stumble across a professional shoot today, oodles of cameras, tripods, an assistant and two beautiful models. I was fascinated to watch the polava of the pro, as a happy snapper I have no idea what they were doing for the most part, composing, playing with light and shade, I am not sure. Between sets I managed to shoot off a few frames, not for me the luxury of posing this most beautiful woman, I was reliant on her natural flow as a model as she composed herself for the next set of shots. She was being shot on the rocks with the still waters of my river behind her, was it a betrayal of my mistress the river to shoot her, maybe so but I surely could be excused for the chance opportunity to shoot such a a scene. The flowing gown, a little gothic I thought at first until the location and style of the gown took me to my memories of Greek mythology and The Sirens of the Sea.

THE SEIRENES (or Sirens) were three sea nymphs who lured sailors to their death with their beauty and their bewitching song. They were formerly handmaidens of the goddess Persephone who was abducted by Haides. The sirens were sent to assist in the search, realising its futility they eventually gave up and settled on the flowery island of Anthemoessa.

The Seirenes were also encountered by the Argonauts who passed by unharmed with the help of Orpheus, the poet drowning out their music with his song. Odysseus also sailed by, bound tightly to the mast, his men blocking their ears with wax. The Seirenes were so distressed to see a man hear their song and yet escape, that they threw themselves into the sea and drowned.

I hope that you share my opinion of this maiden, she may not have lured sailors to their doom but she lured me to capture her for a moment and I hope you enjoy the shot and the little bit of myth!!

Beautiful in Large I think!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.