Paddling Doon The Water

What to do on a bank holiday? Overnight the rain was of biblical proportions and again early this morning it was much the same. I was resigned to quiet day at home but the day cleared and I headed for our river.

As I walked I met a man with the most beautiful Labrador, we chatted for a minute or two and I admired the dog, short legged for the gun and beautifully proportioned, I walked on sad at the thought of my own dogs sadly no longer with me and with a heavy heart I continued on my way. I left the path as soon as I could and made my way onto the foreshore my quest blue beech glass, small rounded and smooth. I managed to collect a few pieces different shades and sizes and quite a good haul for the day.

As I turned for home, the breeze carried a familiar scent, faint from the collar of my jacket, I pulled it closer to me mind wandering to another time and place. My daydream was interrupted by the rhythmic thud of the paddle wheels of the Waverly as she made way on our river, a bank holiday excursion for the hardy voyagers braving the cold. I rattled off a few frames and felt I should use one, not very special but she is lovely to see, here as she passes Langbank.

I hope you enjoy seeing her and I think best in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.