SILVERDALE CAVE

A lovely day today with Hubby.  We decided that although it was cloudy and hazy it wasn't raining and was quite warm so we went to Silverdale.  Not far but a very pleasant drive.

We decided to park outside St John's Church and walk through the village to get a feel for the place, all done up in it's bunting.  We started off in the Blossom Bird cafe for coffee and received a very lovely and warm welcome.  Sadly on Tuesdays the kitchens aren't open so they can only offer drinks, cakes, sausage rolls and pies.  Well coffee was enough for us really and it turned out just as well that the kitchen wasn't open other wise Hubby would have had a Bacon Butty and that wouldn't have been good for later (read on)!!  It is a lovely little cafe however and is very popular and has a Bistro menu, which they offer at weekends in the evenings, but you'd need to book as it's very busy.

After coffee we went on down to Silverdale Cove and knowing that the tide was well out we made our way around the cove to the Silverdale Cave (see main and extras).  Apparently the cave was formed from the dissolution of the limestone along a geological fault that is also present at Red Rake on the opposite side of The Cove. The salt marsh was, prior to its erosion, almost up to the height of the entrance of the cave.  It has been a popular spot for visitors for many years. 

I've been down to Silverdale Cove quite a few times but usually walked the other way so have not seen the cave until now, although I have read about it.  It's not far from Jenny Brown's Point, which, as you can see, I have photographed before.  

Before we got there this family were exploring the cave, we were quite a way off so I took a quick photo of them to give a sense of scale (see extras).  Now not so many years ago I would have been able to scramble up to it but you can see it's quite high and I just can't do it now.  Such a shame as I would have loved to have taken a photo from inside the cave looking out!!

We both forgot to put on our walking shoes and we were just in our general flatties so couldn't go too far anyway.  As it was they got very muddy, but with some stone and grass we managed to get rid of most of the muddy sand.

After the cave we headed back to Silverdale and called into The Silverdale Hotel.  Now I've only ever walked past this before and I have no idea why as it's a lovely place.  Olde worlde, but then I love olde worlde and this is olde worlde in a good way.  A very friendly and warm welcome, even though we arrived before midday when they officially open (only about 10 minutes before). 


They serve good quality pub grub so we decided to have our main meal now and plumped for homemade steak and ale pie with new potatoes and seasonal veg, because hubby always says the only true pie is made with shortcrust pastry and not a puff pastry topping, which he hates.  I do tend to agree with him on that.  

But oh my it was too large for me.  I ate what I could and it was delicioius, the veg were beautifully cooked too.  I do hate to leave any when it's so good but I could have done with a half portion - will know better another time.

I also had a glass of white wine so my cheeks were very rosy as we left and walked on back through the village to the car. 

For my churches photographic project we decided to call into St John's Church, which is the main reason we parked outside it.  It is a lovely, very well used and pretty church.  The church is recorded in the National Heritage List for England as a designated Grade II listed building. It is notable for the high quality of the stone carving in the interior.  There was a chapel in the parish before the Reformation and this was rebuilt in 1829. The present church was built in 1884–86 and designed by Ball and Elce of Manchester. The chapel was then used as a mortuary chapel.

I've not had chance yet to edit all the photos I took today so they may appear in the future as I already have a couple of churches which I haven't yet put in extras.

After all that excitement, a lovely meal and a glass of wine I confess to falling asleep in the car on the way home, hubby was driving of course.

Well that's all from me for today  do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.