Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

This is going to be my new east-facing bedroom window when I move downstairs in the next few days. That ominous patch in the ceiling above the window is directly beneath my current kitchen sink. I don't think it's an ongoing issue but I will discuss it with the landlord when we meet to sign the new tenancy contract and collect the keys
The previous tenant has left, all his tat as well as the carpets have been disposed of over the bank holiday, and the floors are being made ready for new fitted carpets. This turquoise is the underlay in the bedroom, the living room currently has bare floorboards and carpet-fixing edging strip only. The bathroom is twinkling and a new shower cutain has been bought but not installed. Movable kitchen appliances (washing machine and fridge-freezer) have both been pulled forward so that behind and beneath can be sanitised, and all the built-in stuff is in the process of being cleaned. He doesn't mess about, my landlord – very fast, very thorough – setting the bar high and showing me how the best landlord in Bedford gets his reputation. I am taking notes.
Meanwhile, the estate agent selling my London flat has advised another tack, and for the first time since putting it up for sale I have listened to his experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.