StephenF

By StephenF

Chobham rocks

This is the Chobham Rock Choir performing at yesterday's Carnival.  I first heard then sing at the lighting up of the Chobham Christmas Tree last December and was impressed by them then. The enjoyment they get from singing is very clear from the expressions on their faces and it spread to  all of us as we watched their energetic performance. The lady standing in front of the choir was signing the words to the songs as she sang - I think this one was 'I want to dance with somebody' - Whitney Houston would have been proud of her and the rest of the choir.. I was told, in my first year at Dartford Grammar School, that I couldn't sing which, given it was the same school that Mick Jagger went to, says something about the music teacher's ear for a good voice. That said, he was probably right in my case!  Nevertheless, I did make tentative enquiries about where and when the Chobham Rock Choir meets and they are keen to welcome new recruits, so I am thinking about it and, in the privacy of my own company, breaking into occasional song. The sad news today of Gordon Lightfoot's death has got me singing Early Morning Rain - now that would be a nice, reflective song for the Rock Choir to do.... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.