Cheese and children

My sister was going to drive me to Hampton station to catch the 10.51 to Waterloo this morning, but at the last minute I remembered that I'd wanted to visit the Teddington Cheese Shop. As Teddington is the next but one stop on the way to London it worked out well and I asked if they had one of my favourite cheeses in stock. They did, so I bought a slice of Brokkel Oud, a wonderful mature Gouda. Even better than the Comté which I bought at the Borough Market in London on Wednesday!

The journey home wasn't too bad! The first part of the London-Glasgow part was livened up by a small child sitting opposite me, maybe three years old, who informed me on sitting down that she was going to Blackpool - with her mum, naturally! We had some amusing conversion until they got off at Preston. On the other side of the aisle was an older child who whinged for most of the journey. At this point the guard announced that there was a problem with the train and that everything would have to be switched off for a while. Eventually the train started - rather like rebooting a computer I suppose - and we continued, though nineteen minutes late. It reminded me of Reggie Perrin - 'Eleven minutes late - signal failure at Effingham', but in this case 'Nineteen minutes late, computer problem at Preston'!

It wasn't a problem for me - I had nineteen minutes less to wait for the Oban train once we'd arrived in Glasgow. So home by 9.40 - nearly twelve hours, door-to-door. Good to be back!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.