Family floor boards

In the 1950's my great-grandparents house was torn down. My grandfather offered my parents anything in it they could use in the little house they were building. My parents took up all the yellow pine floor boards they could salvage. My father planed the tongues off and used 2 boards together for the base boards in the one bedroom cottage. I have always liked the looks of that wood so I decided to remove it and have something made of it. I have a soft spot for everything old, especially when it is family related. I wanted a dining room table but there just was not enough wood to make it. I thought about it for a long time and finally decided on this bench. Hubby and I designed it to fit perfectly in our entrance in WV. We found a craftsman who thought he could make something nice out of them. We hired him and took the wood to him in February.  He called to say we could pick it up yesterday. 
  I could have taken a close up of the bench itself but I wanted a picture of my mother sitting on it as the wood belonged to her grandparents Will and Daisy Bayne. It is now one of my most prized possessions. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.