Birmingham

A city riddled with canals.  Also, looking south from high in the QE hospital, a green city.

Finally some progress.  Mid afternoon, as I was driving home, I got a call from Ruth.  One of the tests had  finally yielded a result.  Something that can be treated with anti-biotics.  Seems she has Salmonella poisoning.   A relief to think that she should feel much better soon.  She's desperate to get home but the hospital want to know that this is all that's wrong so will keep her in a bit longer and do some more tests if needed.  Some of the problems have been going on too long to be Salmonella.   

I spent the morning at Ruth's, a late start after a late night.  Meg had a decent walk in Cotteridge Park which is a super green space not far from Ruth's place.   I called in to see Ruth who was at this stage rather rebellious.  Anxious about possible invasive procedure and just wanting to get back to her home.  With the medics advising against discharge, her support agency could not commit to care at home without a review, so the option to go home evaporated.  All of which made the afternoon news such a relief.   One of her PA's split the afternoon between brushing Timmy cat and visiting Ruth.  A period of calm for now.

Back in my own home I had a short soak in the bath to ease the strains of the last few days.  I was pleased to be back in time for singing.  Another new member tonight and a very rousing evening's singing we had.  Just what I needed!

Work tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.