Simonside with Ailie

Ailie and I picked an perfect day for our walk up Simonside - sunshine and a slight breeze. We took longer than we used to, but we did have a coffee break and an early lunch stop. We were quite impressed with ourselves and had a really good catch up.

When we got home it was quite warm in the garden but I didn’t have time to sit out and relax and Val said she had some Bluetak I could have so I headed along the road for that. They are moving to Cheshire in a couple of months, initially into their son-in-law’s spare house till they find what they want. She is desperate to get moving. It’s interesting how people can find ways to make difficult decisions seem more palatable. She is saying Rothbury “isn’t the same now”. She’s lived here close on 80 years so that’s hardly surprising! I think it helps her come to terms with the move. It’s a brave decision.

I’m re-reading “Still Life” by Sarah Winman for book group. I wasn’t too keen to do that, having read it a couple of years ago, but I’m glad I am as I’m getting more from it now.

I’ve walked over 7 miles today and over 17000 steps. I hope I’m fit enough for our week in Mallorca.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.