MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Dove Tale

My daughter had spotted a telephone box at Allens Green nicely decorated for the coronation and thought that I might like to photograph it. She drove me there this morning in her track Honda S2000. (Extras) Afterwards we went for a coffee and chat at The Henry Moore Foundation in Perry Green. We loved the drive through the countryside. 

This afternoon I visited The Gibberd Garden in search of columbine and lily-of-the-valley (Extras) for my personal coronation invitation challenge. No success at first but I spotted both as I was about to leave. Neither was fully open. I'm glad I found a blue columbine as that is the colour of the one on the invitation. Our wild Aquilegia vulgaris flowers are blue. I think my image shows quite well how the name columbine came about. It is from the Latin word for dove. I think the flower bud in my picture looks very like a group of doves huddled together. Another name for these flowers is granny's bonnets. They're typical cottage garden plants.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.