MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Clocked A Cuckoo

I went to Amwell to see if I could spot the cuckoo which has arrived recently. When Ollie dog and I went looking for it in 2021 the cows decided to follow us which was a bit unnerving.

A couple were training binoculars on something, they thought it could be the cuckoo but weren't sure. They kindly pointed it out to me. I took a shot just before it flew and sure enough it was the well-travelled bird.

We heard him calling and I walked with Michelle and Derek to a field. What a thrill, he was perched on a wire not far from a female cuckoo. (Extras) This is only the second time I have photographed a cuckoo. I got a very distant shot of one in flight at Heybridge Basin once and thought at first that it was a bird of prey.

I love the way male cuckoos stick their tails up in the air. That stance is pictured by CF Tunnicliffe in my Ladybird What To Look For In Spring book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.