JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Wall with weeds

I think these pretty blue-flowered plants are green alkanet (Pentaglottis sempervirens). They grow in the narrow margin between the edge of the Old Road and the tall back garden wall of the houses at the top of the High Street. They are part of the borage family (Boraginacae), along with borage, comfrey and forget-me-nots. They look good against the varied colours and proportions of the old bricks.

The extra was taken the following day, as I didn't have a suitable camera/lens at the time, and shows the detail more clearly.

I did a quick half hour walk around the village at teatime. The sun was lovely but the wind made it much chillier than yesterday.  Today I've been busy with J; tomorrow she will have M here, and I hope to make some more progress with gardening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.