Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Empty shelves

Carl answered the call today and came over for much-needed grass cutting out the back. Several green bags were filled, so we brought them to the bring centre across from DCU. Where now, he asked? Aha, said I, I have a cunning plan. We continued on to Glasnevin Avenue (formerly Ballymun Avenue, but re-named in response to a residents campaign which felt house values were being affected by association) for a lunch stop in the still-going-strong Autobahn pub. It was as if we’d stepped thought a time warp. A grand old, and very large, pub. The food was okay, but the fabulous interior décor stole the show.
From there we called in to M and S in Santry to stock up my fridge, which was looking rather sad. M and S itself was sad too, with lots of empty shelves. Another stop at my local Centra for eggs and bread. It was only when I got home that I noticed these were no ordinary eggs — they’re Barn Eggs, which are “laid by hens temporarily housed for their welfare”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.