A day

All of the cherry blossoms, which were so lush in my April 20 blip, have dropped away and left the trees starting to put on their summer coats.   In a few weeks it all will be lush in green.

I managed to get the car to the shop and get a rental car today, but the process took hours and left me exhausted.  I've been home for six hours and have been able to do nothing but sit.  That's what this illness has done to me; I no longer bounce back.  I was at the shop on time and waited for the rental car driver to pick me up and take me back to where I would get my car.  He arrived in such a big van that I couldn't climb into it.  So he went back and returned in a slightly smaller van.  Getting to the rental agency, I discovered that they did not have a single small car available.  The two cars they Offered me were either too big or had a hatchback I couldn't close.  So they called other branches and found a small car down in the Capitol Hill neighborhood of Seattle and arranged a trade.  Capitol Hill is a long way from here and means going through downtown traffic to get there.  The car is a tiny hatchback whose trunk is so small that once I get my walker in there, there's no room for anything else, such as grocery bags if I go shopping.  But at least it was something I felt comfortable driving so I took it and headed home, only to realize as I got there that I'd forgotten to remove the garage door opener from my own car.  So back to the shop to pick that up and finally home.  Tomorrow I'll have to call the rental agency about finding a small car with a trunk to replace this one.  Fortunately that's the only thing on my schedule.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.