Dragonfly ... maybe

Bigger may be better.

Today it has been a beautiful warm day - at last!

A great day for bird-watching but not for bird photography - there were a lot around, but I was a bit too slow to capture them today.

I pitched my hide at the edge of one of the smaller lakes, where I saw some kingfishers a few days ago.

After 20 minutes a kingfisher pitched alongside me on a branch - I didn't have the time to open the velcro side window, and the noise would've scared it off along with the faffing to get the camera off the tripod so I just watched it.
It dived after a fish, then emerged from the water and ate the fish on my lens sun shade - the cheek of it ... I could have reached out and touched it!

It was a fantastic sight - shame I didn't capture it ... but at least it says something about the effectiveness of my hide and the camouflage I have on my lens.
I did manage one shot of a kingfisher before someone came splashing along in the water with a big net and waders on catching frogs - after big apologies ... he didn't see me (fair enough) I took the hide down and just sat and watched nature go about its business.

I had this once before with a kingfisher landing not 30 cm from me, I took a photo through the mosquito netting but it didn't come out all that good.

I didn't see the ospreys and surreptitiously asked a fisherman if he had seen any birds fishing, he said he hadn't, so maybe they have moved on :-((

I'm not sure whether this a dragonfly - but I imagine that some of the knowledgeable blippers will put me right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.