Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

BREAKFAST, CHAT AND DAWDLING

I was due to meet a friend for breakfast this morning, but thought it was 10 o’clock so didn’t rush to get up, but when I received a text from her to say she would be there at about 9.15, I realised I needed to “get my skates on”!  

I was in plenty of time though and arrived just a few minutes before her - we had a lovely time together and before we knew it, over two hours had gone!  She needed to do some shopping and I had no reason to rush back, so we parted company, and I then dawdled back along the Liddington road, stopping and taking several shots of Liddington Hill and the oil seed rape fields, which are looking stunning at the moment.  Thankfully, the smell didn’t make me sneeze too much although I didn’t stay out of the car for too long!  

This shot of Liddington Hill is very special to many people who live in Swindon, and I know I have said it before, but whenever we go away and are on our way back, we know when we see Liddington Hill that we are almost home.   

It is also a very special to landmark to many because the ashes of dear loved ones are often scattered here, on this hill overlooking Swindon - so many friends were in my thoughts today as I took this shot.

I must admit I was a little disappointed yesterday when I rang the Clinic where my knee operation is due to be done, to be told that it would be another 6 or 7 months before I would be called as I was hoping for June/July of this year.  However, I put on a brave face and said to the secretary that “It is what it is” and will have to wait my turn.  She did say that the NHS waiting time is over 2 years, so I guess, in the scheme of things 6 or 7 months is not so bad.  

I was tempted this morning NOT to do my exercises, but put on my “sensible head” (I’m sure you didn’t think I had one of those!) and told myself that it would be foolish to stop now, having done them for over two months.  I have also decided that in this time of waiting I will try and lose some weight, and with the summer coming, it should be easier to do that.  

I’m sure that my stomach will be doing some of this in the next few weeks - but the most embarrassing time it does it is in church, when it’s very quiet!

BORBORYGMI - noun
The rumbling sounds your stomach makes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.