WIDE WEDNESDAY - HUNDREDS OF BUTTONS

My journey back from Darlington started off well just after midday yesterday, but deteriorated after I got to Cheltenham.  Instead of coming directly to Swindon, which would have taken about half an hour, on the London Paddington train, this was cancelled because of animals on the line - I know, the mind boggles as to what they were!  

There were lots of people who were very upset, as you can imagine, especially as no further explanation or resolution was broadcast over the tannoy.  After about 15 minutes we were told we had to catch the Plymouth train, which went to Bristol Parkway - not Swindon -  then we had to change there to come back to Swindon on the London Paddington train from Penzance.  What a palaver!  

A very nice young man carried my case up and down the stairs, as we had to change platforms and instead of getting home at 4.30 p.m. I didn’t reach Swindon until 6.30 p.m.  However, the lovely Mr. HCB had decided he was taking me out for a meal, even before all this happened - so we went to our favourite restaurant, which meant I didn’t have to cook - so Gold Star to Mr. HCB!  Fortunately, I got chatting to a lady who was also waiting for the same delayed train - don't be surprised - and she told me I could apply for a refund, so I will be doing that.

Today I needed to go into town to do some business and decided to pop into a little haberdashery shop called Sewcraft, which used to be owned by Jean, a lady I was at Junior school with and then Grammar School, but is now run by her daughter, Julie and her husband, Roger.  I wanted to buy some bobbles for hats I am making for the Silly Saturday Gang, and got chatting to the Roger and Lyn, the lady who served me.  He pointed out some very large bobbles, but I said they were too big to put on hats for small teddies!  I then explained about Blip, and showed them a couple of shots of the Silly Saturday Gang, and not having a photograph for today, decided to take a few shots of their very colourful button boxes, which I said I would use for my Wide Wednesday challenge today - so although there are no people in this shot, I did speak to some and I also said I would send them a copy.  It’s so good to be able to go out and meet people and to chat, and you know I love to do that!

There aren’t many shops around like this one, which is crammed with wool, material, patterns, ribbons of all colours, needles, pins, buttons, of course, and much more sewing paraphernalia - so it’s a great place to browse if you are a crafter and it's probably fair to say if you can't find it in Sewcraft, it isn't made!   There is also an annexe to the shop next door, which sells all sorts of fabrics and much more - a crafter’s paradise and of course, I managed to buy my bobbles!

I must admit I did think of two of my Blip friends when I was doing this - Deanna_Pearce and Marionb, both of whom are excellent crafters and stitchers - I have to say, I’m not that good, but I do try and my knitting isn’t that bad!

However, sewing is not my forté and this quote is so me - in fact, when I bought a sewing machine at the beginning  of the lockdowns, Deanna often helped me when I couldn’t thread the needle, insert the bobbin or made a mistake in my sewing.

“If you see me with a seam ripper,
     now is not the time!” 
Anon

P.S.  Thank you for all your lovely comments during the last few days, when I haven't managed to respond, but hopefully normal service will be resumed as soon as possible.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.