Day at a Time

By Tweedy

The Old Oich Bridge

Last week we booked a last minute trip away. This morning we set off for Fort Augustus. The journey though Glencoe was, as always, awesome (proper use of the word). Fort William was ridiculously busy and it took ages to get on our way after being snarled up in the traffic. Our accommodation in Fort Augustus is lovely and the owners asked us to arrive early which was terrific. 


It's about a mile's walk into Fort Augustus along the canal. Ice cream was consumed as I watched a boat navigate the five locks. Always good entertainment. Then  fish and chips were procured (gf for me) and we sat outside, by the canal, to eat. 

The Old Bridge ( in a parlous state and completely closed to any traffic) is my entry for the derelict challenge. Thank you Marlieske as always. Here's some information:

Originally the site of the ferry crossing, until the Jacobite defeat of 1746 when the redcoat army built a three-arched stone bridge. It was importantly used by all the cattle drovers travelling to the south from Skye and the North of Scotland. It later carried the main road from Fort William to Inverness.


I also found a tin tabernacle, built as a Free Church in 1906 and now used as a shop. I'm including it as an extra.

I'm going to turn comments off for tonight and possibly till I get home. I plan to be busy walking and enjoying this part of the Great Glen. I always feel bad when people leave kind comments and I don't have time to respond. Back to normal service soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.