Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Winds in May

I suppose I might equally have called this blip "nuts in May", for that's what was in the feeding box in the photo, but I've just locked up for the night and been amazed by the noise of the wind positively roaring up the Firth - the weather app says it's coming from the East, but it's not battering my east-facing windows nor any others, so that we're in a calm bit for once. It's been so chilly all day too, despite the odd sunny spell, and there were white horses on the water all day. Now I can't see them ...

I had to drag myself out of bed for the early shopping run, but found myself floating round the shop quite happily because there were so few people there. I did leave a bag hanging off my trolley (again!) but this time it was still there when I drove back down to look for it, so all that happened was that I was still finishing breakfast at 10.50am. This meant I wasn't at all hungry at lunchtime and made do with a banana and two mugs of tea, which saw me through to dinner without any noticeable hunger pangs. Does this just happen? 

In the afternoon Himself had an appointment with the sports therapist, so I joined Di at Benmore Gardens for a walk. Because she had a meeting with an admin first, which took us to the far end of the gardens, we did our usual walk in reverse, meaning we had a quick but steep climb up and another fairly steep one down again. I did, however, insist on going to look for squirrels at the sheltered spot where the food is left out - a good decision, as we came upon two of them, one very small, scampering about along the rope between the feeders and up the big tree. The smaller one found his way into a box of nuts but then seemed not to be able to get out; the bigger one, as well as a third that came along, looked in at him but went off again, so that I was sure he was stuck. In the end Di went round the back and opened the lid - and the wee one shot out and scampered off up the big tree. The great tits came and went throughout, except when the third squirrel came down the wire holding their feeder and hung upside down over the nuts, though he then fell off with a loud squeak ...

You can tell I enjoyed myself.

I've decided I can't bear not to say a last goodbye to Sr Clare, so I've started looking at flights from Glasgow to Lewis. And I'd need to stay a night... but that can wait till tomorrow. I'm past it now. Again.

PS: Clock the scampering squirrel on the ground to the right ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.