BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Dog Days

A person can learn a lot from a dog,
Marley taught me about living each day
with unbridled exuberance and joy,
about seizing the moment and following
your heart. He taught me
to appreciate the simple things.’
- John Grogan, Marley and Me:
Life and Love With the World's Worst Dog


Yesterday was an excellent day.
Today is not.

Today is equally dry
but yesterday was brighter.

The mood was lighter yesterday
and out of the breeze it was hot.

Yesterday I couldn’t put a foot wrong.
It whizzed by.

(Sigh!)
Today is sombre and long.

I know, I know,
we must live in the present
and appreciate every moment.

But sometimes we mere humans can’t
(or won’t).

We allow
ourselves to feel low.

We mope
and pin our hopes on tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.