BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

I'm Not Myself Today

I’m a young woman
walking alone
along a country lane
 
but now let’s make that
a park - but not after dark
never after dark.
 
Whoops I’m a youngster
dreaming of being
a gangster. 
 
I’ve got a knife.
 
Glory be I’ve become
a custodian of how things are.
I love (oh yes) how things are.
 
I’m bending the rules
lining my pockets
taking my position
for granted.
 
I’m getting all I ever wanted.
I want more.
 
Oh look
I’m a simple soul.
But (drat it!) I’m in a bit of a hole.
 
Mmm…
I’m a bumbling old fella
with an unfurled umbrella
(that’s more like it)
mumbling, not singing, in the rain.
 
Yes,
I probably am
slightly insane
never mind
 
but, would you believe it,
I’m that young woman again
walking alone along a country lane.
 
It’s dark.



Artwork by my friend Bernard Barnes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.