Capital adventures

By marchmont

Family History

I was contacted by a distant cousin through Ancestry recently and then another distant cousin through Geneanet.  That has led me off to go and seek out the paperwork I started 40 years ago when I started the work.  Fascinating how poorly documented it is and how much info I amassed in the days before you could do it all online but had to physically go to Register House and handle the very documents.  I took some photos to send to 3rd cousin once removed in Newcastle.  I'd copied this advert way back in the early 70's.  It's the advert for the 'Yarra', ship that took my 2 x great grandparents to Melbourne.  It took 5 months. They only stayed 4 years and came  back in 1857.  That took 6 weeks, on a clipper.

The rest of the day was a swim, the 12 weekly energy top up and I finally booked the October Paris trip (no more surfing hotel sites) and booked EIF tickets. In the afternoon to Marchmont and the dentist.  I have a decision to make, not my forte. It was absolutely baltic - snell ENE wind and complete cloud cover makes it fell more like November than Star Wars Day.  I passed the coronation pillar box blipped by Lady Findhorn.  I'd have blipped it too, but I couldn't stop.

Tidied up the table (to make room for the family history papers) and discovered Willow had been chewing my cross stitch chart.  Luckily because the pattern has back stitch outlines there is a duplicate page.  You'd think I didn't feed her. 

I made thai basil paste and mince - got a Thai name but I can't remember.  Two episodes of 'Guilt', more French crime dram and then bed.  Not working is catching!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.