pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

London!!!

It is early, but I've decided it's blip time, as I have nothing else to do from my position in Parliament Street, SW1.

I began with a call to sort out caravan insurance. Then Jon packed the car with our rucksacks and chairs, full of food, sleeping bags, warm clothes etc. Then we went to the hospital for Mollie's pre op appointment. Her operation is the 17th. That was much quicker than we thought it would be, and Jon and I were on the road by 12.30. We spent half an hour at Manda's chatting, then loaded up we walked to Ware station. Caught a train at 15.43 and were at Liverpool Street Station by 16.30.

The weather was changeable on the drive, but has been lovely since leaving Ware. We walked along the river to Westminster where got tea and samosa each. Then walking up Parliament Street we started to see the first people camped or seated along the route. We hesitated, thinking we wanted to go to the Mall, and then saw a group of 4 people on the opposite dide of the road (we are just next to Downing Street) chatting to a security guard, then they moved over to where we are. One couple from St Albans all kitted out to sleep (with a giant sponge mattress and a very excited and lively little girl) and another couple from Ohio over here specially for the coronation. They told us they were told to move to this side of the road, so we decided to set our chairs up here. They have been to The Mall and said it is very busy, and as my main aim is to be close enough to see the King then I'm happy to be here.

Jon put our chairs together, and now we wait. We are right outside the Cabinet Office, just along a bit from Downing Street and the memorial to The Women of World War 2. Its a buzzing atmosphere and we even have a group of protestors up the road shouting - although we can't hear what it's about. There is a helicopter up above us, and police cars up and down. Loads of security as you would expect. I'm sure it will gradually fill up, but for now there is lots of space by us. I'm not expecting to get much if any sleep, but I am sure it will be worth it.

Now to start my new book....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.