stujphoto

By stujphoto

Allepo Tulip

Having taken my wife out for lunch as a way of thanking her for looking after the dogs whilst I was away enjoying myself, I then tackled the lawn which had grown vigorously during my absence. Not a labour of love as we have a quarter acre plot.

My blip had therefore to be a quickie and flowers in the garden seemed to be a good idea. I thought I would try one of the techniques that JG suggested for getting manual focus images absolutely cracking sharp. Put the camera on an approximate manual focus and the shutter action onto continuous and then shoot a sequence of images either gradually moving the camera in ( best for compacts ) or if you have an SLR and it is on a tripod (as it jolly well ought to be if John G has any say in the matter) gradually turnigng the focus ring. Then look at your photos and choose the one which is most sharp.

I found using this technique I had a number of images that I would have gladly used on my blip, some of which had nice soft focus effects. I've chosen one of the Allepo Tulips with the ragged edge sharp and the interior clearly identifiable. If I have time I might put some of the other options into my portfolio. Obviously takes more time in editing and processing but a technique well worth exploring

Here are the other two images HERE and HERE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.