Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Early Forget-me-not

A three site day! Up at the crack of dawn to do my fourth bird transect in Thorpe Wood - looking stunning with both Bluebell and Wild Garlic in full bloom. And I managed to find the nest of a Treecreeper - sneakily located behind some loose oak bark.

The afternoon was spent at Old Sulehay Reserve, where I had my second session of training some local ecologists. We spent a little time examining some brownfield annuals, including two of my favourite species- the diminutive Early Forget-me-not and Common Stork's-bill - before doing a crash course in some woodland species.

I drove straight from there to pick Pete and Alex up from Woodwalton Fen, where they'd been sampling ditches. I arrived a bit early and had time for a walk down to Rothschild's Bungalow, stopping to listen to my first Cuckoo of the season, which was making itself very visible just when I didn't have a telephoto lens!. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.