First of the year

A day of two halves. Sometime in the last week or so I seem to have lost my prescriptions sunglasses. Having searched everywhere to no avail, I dashed into Boots this morning to arrange for a replacement pair to be made. I thought I might have to book an appointment but they saw me immediately and hopefully the glasses should be available by the middle of the month. They cost an eye-watering amount, but as I can't do fieldwork without them I just have to pay. I may check the terms of our house insurance to see if they're covered!

In the afternoon Pete, Chris and I headed out to do some fieldwork in the Nene valley. Again it was mild and still but rather oppressively overcast. This stretch of the valley has some splendid ancient pollard willows set in largely species-poor grassland, but there are also fragments of marsh, slightly more species-rich grassland, a rather nice riverine fringe and a huge badger sett. One of the fields was being grazed by a herd of Lincoln red cattle with calves, beautiful creatures! 

I spotted this male Banded Demoiselle perched on a grass stem next to the river. It was too cool and dull for it to fly off, though it wasn't easy to get a good shot because of the low light levels, and the fact that the grass stem swayed gently despite the very light breeze. Nevertheless, it had to be recorded as it's the first of the year for me. I'm sure there'll be plenty more! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.