Vivat Rex Carolus

Nothing like brushing up on one's Latin whilst watching TV on a rainy Saturday morning. I was just 3 when Queen Elizabeth ll  was crowned so, of course, have no memory of that at all, but  whenever I have seen clips of the ceremony I have always been taken aback by the shouts of Vivat Regina. I thought the Vivats today were not as strident but the playing and singing of  Zadok the Priest was stunning. I found that part of the ceremony - the symbolism of clothing the King  in a plain linen shirt for his  anointing - rather moving. Of course  it is all very anachronistic and there are legitimate questions about retaining a monarch in a modern democracy, but the thought of an elected Head of State doesn't strike me as much of an alternative without major constitutional reform. All in all,  I enjoyed the occasion and thought the Windsor Greys, pictured in the extra photo taking Charles and Camilla to the Abbey, looked magnificent. Now, back to my Latin Primer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.