Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Just HAD to?

Funny thing memory?

Not having seen a Coronation for ≈ 70 yrs, I couldn't let this one pass.  Not exactly, I think it was 2nd June last time.

HOW things have changed.

Last time it was in black & white, on a 12", almost circular, screen; behind a HUGE Blister, to make it look bigger for the packed room on our row.
The only one with a TV.   I think the entire population of all 20 houses (at least) were practicing for a Sardine Can.  Kids horizontalis on the carpet, such adults who couldn't stand sat, some on forms imported from the Bowling green.

The same memory carried me back to the Royal Mews, where I remember Dad (A time-served wheelwright) muttering about the miserable job "they" had made of a wheel repair to one of the State coaches.

Other changes?  A couple of female Bishops, a lady Sword-Bearer spring easily to mind.  If I try to go on I'll, like as not either miss some point or, in this modern PC society it's not impossible to, unintentionally, offend folk?

If YOU can remember the last one you must be older than you look?

I heard how they got ALL the massed band to start, and step off on the same beat.  Every base Drummer had an earpiece, into which a recorded instruction was played to guarantee ALL started together.  At least the commentator gave the impression it was a recording, rather than from the OiC, there and then.

Today's test? - Spot the rebuilt flag, where I had to remove a wee message, I'd missed seeing, from the screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.