Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

I had hoped to be able to show Julez this sewn bunting after her recent comment about all the plastic tat, and here it is! Though having not yet been sold one wonders where it can be stored safely until it may be required next. There won't be any jubillees or Royal weddings for a good long time. We might even have another coronation before the next wedding. Hope so!
This morning I left my attic flat to go round town accumulating cleaning products, a replacement shower curtain, and to amend my standing order to the landlord as my online bank has been struggling this week. Those chores completed I returned to my new flat on the first floor where I met my landlord busying himself with some final tweaks. I signed the contract and then began carting stuff down. First the kit of parts that forms my bed-and-shelves. I assembled them in their new location before adding more clutter. I hadn't measured the space I planned to locate my bed prior to commencing assembly. When I show it to you you won't believe it. Next I filled the shelves and then made the bed. After that it was the cheap tube-and-canvas wardrobe to be emptied, dismantled, brought down, reassembled and re-filled, and finally the hefty storcase. That is everything that can be dismantled, hereafter it's bulky stuff that can't be made any smaller. I might need to enlist another body to help get things round tight corners.
Although this flat is larger, it has less built-in storage and so I shall need to acquire additional furniture of one sort or another. Either that or seek permission to organise some building-in.
And the laptop is downstairs while the router is still upstairs – hurrah! I'm getting a good signal through all that floor and carpet even though not much sound passes through.
So busy for so long I've been completely oblivious to any parade and/or any rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.