Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

ROSES ALL THE WAY!

When I was woken by my alarm at 7 o’clock this morning, I was very surprised to find that Mr. HCB was still in bed by the side of me, because he is usually an “early bird”.   When I attempted to get out of bed, without disturbing him, I heard a plaintive voice saying “I don’t think I’ll come this morning because I’ve got a very sore throat.”  I was sympathetic, knowing that the virus I had recently had started in the same way, so told him I would get him some paracetamol, which he refused and said he was going downstairs and would dose himself, which I’m glad to say he did.  However, it was apparent, when he spoke that the best place for him was at home.  I just hope he hasn’t got what I had!

We had a great service at Church, with a wonderful sermon and some good worship songs, following which, as usual, we had coffee.  I had spoken to my friend on Friday, to ask if her son had a camera, and when she said he didn’t have one, I asked if I could give him one of mine and she said she was sure he would be delighted, so I took it with me and gave it to him after Church.  I had charged the battery and it was “ready to go” so gave him a quick lesson and he looked really pleased, so I hope that between his parents and me and others in the Church who are keen photographers, we can help him to take some good shots and encourage him in a new hobby.  

Of course, the difference between many of us who had our first camera when we were quite young, is that these days, they can see instantly what they have taken rather than waiting for a film to be developed and then finding that 20 out of 24 had people with their heads cut off or were so blurry you couldn’t make out what the subject was meant to be!  I’m sure his two younger brothers will feature in many of his shots and hope he enjoys being creative.  

These beautifully arranged roses were on the table just before you enter the Church sanctuary and looked lovely, so rather than going out looking for something after Church, I thought these could be my Blip for today, besides which, although Mr. HCB had told me not to rush home, I didn’t want to be out for too long.  I knew he would be anxious to go round to the greenhouse but I had told him not to go out before I got home, as he said he was feeling rather dizzy and I didn't want to get home and find him in a heap on the greenhouse floor.  He has just been round to check on his tender plants, and says they are all looking good - I’m rather relieved, as I’m not quite as keen as he is and don’t want to kill any of them off.

Hope you all enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a good day tomorrow - at least it’s not raining today, so I guess many of the street parties will go ahead - it’s just a shame that it was wet for the Coronation yesterday - but this is the UK and we know we just have to “get on with what we’re doing” rather than waiting for the weather to be on our side!

I had never heard if this word before and I hope that our Worship Group don’t think I’m getting at any of them!

TWANKLE : verb
To twankle is ‘to twang with the fingers on a music instrument’.  
Absentmindedly strumming or playing an instrument is also known as twiddling, twangling, tootling, noodling, plunking, thrummling and tudeling (the latter of which, perhaps rather aptly, has its origins in a German word, dudeln, meaning ‘to perform badly’).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.