Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

LOST - BLIP MOJO

Mr. HCB is feeling quite a lot better;  however, in his own words is still feeling “a bit woozy”  so he is still taking paracetamol every four hours at least for today and hopefully he will feel much better tomorrow.

We were hoping to go and see our bluebell wood this afternoon, but the weather is awful - it’s cold and occasionally showery, so that would not be a good idea, so feeling a bit fed up.  There are things like housework that I could be doing, but that doesn’t grab me.

However, despite the saying that my Grandma always used to use, “The devil finds work for idle hands to do”, I won't be idle this afternoon, as I have just been asked to do the opening devotions at the Pastoral Care Team meeting tomorrow evening, because the person who was going to do it is ill.  That will certainly keep me busy this afternoon - so hopefully some good will come from not feeling like doing housework!

This is a boring shot of Mr. HCB’s small greenhouse - but please don’t tell him I said that because he works so hard trying to grow plants from seed to go in the garden - and I really do appreciate all he does.

Another expression often used is “After the Lord Mayor’s show” meaning an anticlimactic or disappointing end following an otherwise exciting, impressive, or entertaining display. It is used as a fuller phrase "After the Lord Mayor's show comes the dust-cart”, referring to the street cleaners who follow the annual procession of the Lord Mayor of London to clean up the pageant horses' dung - always good to go on the roses though!  So I guess for many, after the build-up to, and then the spectacular events of the Coronation - and I know some didn’t agree with it - but that’s not me or us - a miserable Bank Holiday Monday is a bit like that.  However, I’m sure this feeling will pass because I am usually a very positive person, and tomorrow is another day.

So, because I don’t have much else to do, I thought that I would start a series of the longest words in the English language, starting with this one and before you ask, I have tried to pronounce it!!

Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia (36 letters)
Ironically, this is one of the longest words in the dictionary and is the name for a fear of long words! Who would have thought? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.