Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Hedgehog rules

According to all I have read about hedgehogs, they don’t like bright light and don’t like being disturbed. So the 'rules' are not to disturb hedgehogs and not to use bright lights near them. BUT their favourite activity is eating so it seems they don't mind bright lights if there's food to be eaten!

I had gone out just after midnight to top up the hedgehog food in the feeding box. I had taken the lid off the box and was wearing my very bright head torch. I heard the huffing and puffing of a hedgehog approaching. He barged his way through the hedgehog flap and started eating. I kept still and he didn’t seem to know I was there, despite the bright light from my head torch. Putting the roof back on the feeding box is noisy, so I had to wait until he finished eating and toddled off back out before I could top up with more food and put the roof back on.

My night camera showed that two other hedgehogs came to feed overnight.

They are really messy eaters and I hadn't had chance to clear up the scattered food before this hedgehog arrived!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.