Grammy

By Grammy

Primrose

Hubby was up very early to go to the church hall and help with the monthly breakfast. I was up by 8:00 and out the door to start planting my four gardens. These dainty primroses are blooming at the corner by our garage doors. They aren’t as dense as in previous years which is a good thing. Hubby brought my breakfast plate around 10:30. It was delish and at that point I needed a break. His next task was finishing Kristen’s stair trim. He had several small intricate cuts to do. One of my best friends was flown to a large hospital in DC this morning. She collapsed and was unresponsive when her daughter called me to pray. We have heard nothing since. I finished three of the four beds as I prayed. By then, hubby was ready to take the wood to Kristen so she can stain it. I washed off and rode along. She has so many projects in the queue: painting her lower kitchen cabinets, staining one of her outside gazebos, taking apart their rotting deck, enlarging and replacing it, staining the trim on her stairs and installing it, and painting an old refrigerator. She is doing all this while working full time and taking three college courses. She is such a chip off my shoulder (in my younger days). When we got home, I finished the fourth flower bed; hubby went to Lowe’s to get crab grass preventer and put it on the lawn. He helped me finish the flower bed (we needed to whack a large ornamental grass in half) and we put everything away just as it started to rain. I am so pleased with our accomplishments this weekend. Plus I got in over 10,000 steps both days. But I am beat. After much needed showers to wash off all the dirt and grime, we had leftovers for dinner. It is definitely recliner time. Tomorrow is going to be pretty slow as well so my legs can recuperate. I sure hope you found time for a bit of fun this weekend. Stay safe. Thanks for your visit.
“The Primrose opens wide in spring;
Her scent is sweet and good:
It smells of every happy thing
In sunny lane and wood…”
Mary Cicely Barker

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.