A day in the life

By Shelling

Events

Gorgeous day today, the first day with proper warmth in the air and bright sunshine the whole day. My landlord is transporting his cattle to different grazing grounds, there aren't enough grass for the whole herd here, where they been all autumn, winter and spring till today. From now, only the newly born calves and their mums are left and a cow who's going to have a calf in near future. Peace and quiet and perhaps less flies will be a result of that. 

Two projects were done during the day, painting some door lining to put around the frame for the attic-stairs and a total remake of the steps from the inside of the house to the veranda. A year ago a made some steps but they were too narrow and a little bit weak I thought so I improved the construction from two planks to three and it's now much better and a lot more stable. The design was changed a bit too because I ran out of long enough planks so I had to do some inventive design to make it look like it was meant to look like that. I was quite pleased. 

Some time was spent pondering about my toilet door. What happened was that when I closed the door behind me I heard that the door-handle fell off on the outside, the screws holding it must have untied themself over time and suddenly let go. I couldn't get out, the handle on the inside had no connection to the mechanism anymore. There is a window in there but it's stuck and far too small form me to get out of so I was trapped. What would I have done if I didn't have my phone with me when I went in? I rang my neighbour but she was somewhere else, my landlord was at home and could rescue me. Without the phone I would have had to force open the door somehow, modern doors are quite weak but the thought was a bit scary. I'm going to put some simple tools in the bathroom, should it happen again. Check your door-handles, that's my advice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.