Stella2

By Stella2

Russell Terrace

It's been a fairly wet day today and I decided to catch a train into Exeter to pick up my repaired laptop.  Exeter wasn't as wet and it became fairly bright so I wandered through a few shops in the vague thought of looking at clothes but wasn't inspired. I collected the laptop and then had some time to spare so went for a wander around some of the back streets close to Exeter Central station.  I wandered down Silver Terrace and Russell Terrace finding the old house terraces with small off street gardens quite picturesque. I had thought Silver referred to the metal and past history but apparently it is Latin for wood (Silva) and the nearby Little Silver street was derived from Litel (meaning outside) Silva (wood).  The wood outside the walls.

I returned to Exmouth on the train to find that the misty drizzle was still around and it stayed turning into quite heavy rain by the end of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.