Stella2

By Stella2

Green winged orchid

I had been wanting to visit the field that is known for its Green Winged Orchids for awhile now and thought that it may be a good time to go.  So I set off with a friend and we caught the bus into Exmouth.  From here we planned to walk back home and to call in at the field.  When we got there it was a lovely sight as there were lots of Orchids flowering.  In fact I don't think I have seen quite so many before.  They were mainly in perfect condition.  We spent some time photographing them and the more you looked the more slight variations in colour and form were visible.

We then headed off home along the coast path walking past several very colourful fields full of rape.  The sun didn't quite come out while we walked but the temperature was increasing.  We arrived back in Budleigh just as the street party in the high street was getting underway.

After a quick lunch I headed back to the allotment where I spent some time trying to battle with the couch grass underground roots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.