Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

CELEBRATION - 1937

My gardening plans for today had to be cancelled as it has rained all day.  I did intend doing some ironing instead but in the end I couldn't be bothered.  So I watched TV and did a bit of sewing.  Had a nice lazy day.

At around 4pm I had a WhatsApp video call with Becky and Astrid.  It was lovely to see them both and have a nice catch up.  Made me want to go and visit so I think I will start sorting out travel and accommodation for a trip in a couple of months.

The Mono Monday challenge is " Celebration".   I remembered I had a celebratory issue of The Daily Sketch so  had a quick look and found it.  The paper is dated May 13th 1937 and its an issue which celebrates the Coronation of George V1.  The front page features this photo of the newly crowned King George V1 with Queen Elizabeth, Queen Mary ( his mother ) and Princess Elizabeth and Princess Margaret. The actual Coronation took place the previous day  - May 12th.  I've added an Extra showing two advertisements from the newspaper which have a Royal theme. The newspaper is packed with photos celebrating the Coronation- a lot of them show scenes very similar to those from King Charles Coronation on Saturday. Thanks to ApolloFly for hosting the challenge.

Steps today - 3,282

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.