A Delightful Visit

...and a somewhat less delightful one.

 Susan was 5 when her parents moved next door to us on Magnolia St. We were close neighbors and friends for over forty years, and I think I became someone Susan felt she could talk to when she couldn't talk to her parents. I'm not claiming any kind of special status, but I do understand that all young people can use someone like that, and I was glad to be there for Susan. We have kept up our friendship over the years and were both surprised that her last visit here with her partner, Craig, was almost 4 years ago, so we had a lot of catching up to do. John was always really fond of Susan and enjoyed their visit as much as I did.

We went our separate ways after a long coffee at Trail House (a helpful patron offered to take this picture) they to the airport to fly back to Minneapolis and we to the orthopedist to have my suspicions confirmed about what is wrong with my knee. I really liked the young doctor who said he doesn't do surgery but is there to advise people on what do to manage knee issues. As luck would have it, my knee felt fine today, but an x-ray did confirm that the lateral right side has no cartilege and is basically bone on bone. He offered a cortisone shot but I decided to wait and see if it gets better on its own. He agreed that if I had the shot today we wouldn't know whether it got better because of the shot, or because it would have gotten better anyway (it has before). He gave me his phone number and said if the pain comes back and I decide to go for the shot he can fit me in without having to wait. So not a bad outcome.

Once home again, I found a YouTube recording of the coronation which I watched from the golden carriage to the Abby and the black and gold one back to Buckingham Palace. Did they really need two different carriages? The horses were magnificent, especially the ones with the blue manes. My other remarks are less witty than they are from a 'foreign' perspective. I really want to know what all that royal regalia is all about...the bows and medals the capes and robes tied and hung about and suspended from their persons. I think even I can grasp the meaning of the crown (but I never did see Camilla get hers.) There was no commentary to assist me. I have to admit that I was sort of laughing during the robing ceremony and the presentation of the orb and scepter, the rings and bracelets, the books and swords. The moving of furniture...screens, kneelers, chairs and thrones also amused me, not to mention the fact that I don't think I could have stood up from the throne with all the vestments, crown on my head and hands full of orb and scepter. I have to wonder...what happens to all that stuff now?

The music was divine and I cannot imagine how much those choirs must have practiced, and how flawlessly everything was presented. (How on earth does one play the trumpet while riding a horse?) And it was sort of in the back of my mind that it is just possible that I will see three such ceremonies in my lifetime having seen Elizabeth's coronation when I was 9, and Charles being not much younger than me.

So that was my take on the festivities. My admiration for all those who pulled it off is great, but is all that really necessary?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.