The Chair's a Bit Small

I was working on the quilt behind John when he came in for a chat. Spike doesn't like our multi purpose space very well, but as soon as John sat down Spike abandoned his rug in the doorway and joined into the chair. He has a way of inserting himself into small spaces if there is a person there. We did our Pilates on the floor this morning and then took Spike on his favorite walk up to the meadow. My knee, which felt so much better yesterday was complaining mightily today.

 I think the nice young doctor I saw yesterday has seen this phenomenon before, as he promised to get me in quickly if I changed my mind about a cortisone injection. A knee brace was also offered, but he said, "You have to be a rocket scientist to figure out how to put it on".  I suspect that there's a good chance that I will be opting for the injection soon....

We may have seen the last of the year's rain yesterday with a smattering that was just enough to get the pillows I had put out on the outdoor furniture wet again. It is sunny and chilly today, but the temperatures are supposed to rise to 92F/33C by Sunday which is Mother's Day here. Nothing like going from winter to summer with no spring in between....

I read a funny article the other day about the names different families have for a meal of leftovers. Our friends in Oregon call it a 'goof off dinner'. I wonder what other people call it when they don't feel like cooking and just rustle up something. For us, it sometimes involves each of us just fending for ourselves, but tonight I think it will be the first BLT (Bacon, Lettuce and Tomato) sandwich of the season. The tomatoes are hothouse ones, and will definitely improve enormously when our own plants produce fruit. We might do the California version and add some avocado.

There's nothing I like better than a home grown tomato still warm from the vine. We do have lettuce in the garden right now, and John has been busy planting green beans, zucchini, cucumbers and a few other summer veggies, so we shall soon be having some nice salads from the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.