Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Day 1 (EDI-LHR-Athens)

A few dramas before we left for the airport... the lights fused. I know how to fix them, but it’s a faff, so just as well it happened while we were there, and not when Jan had just arrived. The taxi limousine was a wee bit early, but we were ready. And as we sat in, ready to go, I realised I'd left my bag in the bedroom. I'm not used to carrying a bag, but I have my wee Kipling bag for holidays - passport, tickets etc. just as well I noticed before the taxi moved off!! Archie was barking like mad because I had to go back in to the house. We left him with his bone, and Jan was arriving a wee bit later.

At the airport, we had breakfast in the BA lounge. The much anticipated pancake maker was in the Aspire Lounge, sadly. Fast track security was only slowed down somewhat by me having a bottle of water in my handbag.... DUH!

A couple of hours wait in the lounge at Terminal 5 Heathrow was no problem. Bubbles were consumed. We chatted with an American woman (a Trump supporter) whose holiday was a bit of a nightmare so far - delayed flights, missed connections, bumped from business to cattle class, and another very long wait at Heathrow. She loved asking us about the Royal Family.

Our flight was delayed by an hour because of congestion in Athens. I must say, the meals we got on the plane were super. This snack on the London flight - fennel, broccoli, hummus and bulgar. And a delicious dessert which seemed to be made of condensed milk. I ate JR's one as well. This was the only photo I took all day.

Rather late arriving in Athens (22°)- they're two hours ahead, and it was quite a ride into town. There were several others from our flight going to the hotel, and the ship tomorrow. Exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.