Low Gill Viaduct (and Grayrigg Station)

I had a busy but not overly challenging 'to do' list, today, so my plan was to work from home and steadily tick items off.

But then the guy from Atkinson's rang me to say the front 'fret' for the fire had arrived, so I said I'd go and pick it up at lunchtime.

That all went according to plan, but it was a lovely day and was loath to simply drive straight back home, so I thought I might go via Grayrigg, which is where we first lived when we moved to Kendal, over thirty years ago.

The little village - albeit with a magnificent church - was looking lovely in the sunshine I thought about where I might take a photo, before remembering that I'd never investigated the former Grayrigg Station.

So after a little bit of research on my phone, and making use of Google Maps, I set off for the coordinates that I lifted from Wikipedia, until I ended up driving along the appropriately named Station Road, and pulled up by a small lane, that led down to the location I had for the station.

I walked down and came to some gates, which had all sorts of warnings on them, but there was a car on the far side, so I called out "Hello" and a chap emerged from the portakabin.

I asked if this was the old station, but he said he didn't know as he didn't usually work here. Mildly deflated, I asked if I could take a photo. "Help yourself", he replied affably and disappeared back inside. So, that's my first Extra: the site of Grayrigg station, but nothing much to see.

There was a bridge over the tracks maybe a hundred yards south, so I walked to that and took my second Extra. There's not much to see in that, either, but that's where the station was.

However, the Wikipedia entry also mentioned the nearby Low Gill Viaduct, which the Grayrigg line once ran over as it came up from Sedbergh, and that made a much better photo for today's Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.