sp33dway

By sp33dway

Edinburgh Half Marathon and Beach

I ran the Edinburgh Half Marathon this morning, with a finishing time of 2hrs 15 mins and 5 seconds, beating my PB from Chester two weeks ago by more than 7 minutes GET IN! (Would've been great to do it 6 seconds quicker though, eh.)

Left top is the que of runners in front of me, left bottom is those behind.

It was a fab start to the day. I ran for Team Macmillan and the support from them along the route - and from the public in general - was nothing short of wonderful. Proper goosebumpy stuff. It was a bit too hot (actually A LOT TOO HOT) but the start was nicely ease-innish and the long flat along the prom to Musselburgh was ok too.

That bggr of a doubleback after Pinkie School was a mental and physical nightmare though, but I was determined not to stop. It was like a neverending road of exhaustion! Seeing and hearing people shouting my name plus a few 'Go Sp33ds' kept me on my feet, especially when one of them was blips' very own monochrome as we passed each other with about a mile to go to the finish. Cheers man :)

In the afternoon we went off to the beach at Yellow-something along the east Lothian coast just before Dunbar. LittleA collected shells and chased waves whilst I let the magical healing powers of the ice-cold sea numb my toes and soles whilst licking a Mr Whippy.

Happy HAPPY days :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.