Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Red Campion

I took a quick trip out to Heather Farm Wetlands for a walk, and perhaps a coffee, though the latter never happened I couldn't find my phone. I hadn't left it in the car (something I have been known to do) but was fairly sure that in which case I'd left it at home (sadly "senior moment" syndrome is hitting!).  However, one never knows, so I headed home to check ... sure enough there it was on the worktop, phew!

Anyway, back to the wetlands. I remember when these were first formed about 10years ago on a site of an old mushroom farm. Then the paths were roughly formed mounds of dirt with mud up to your ankles. Today, all the paths are surfaced and take you through meadows just coming into flower (mainly buttercups just now) with scraps (dug out natural ponds) for wildlife.  The site is a magnet for dog walkers, so not much wildlife is seen, but never the less, it makes for a good Bank Holiday stroll (with the aforementioned opportunity for coffee), and there is always a chance of seeing something interesting.

Today, some Red Campion growing alongside one of the ponds took my eye. An interesting plant in that it is dioecious, i.e. has separate male and female plants. I believe this one is female.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.