The Daily Bun

By pennybun

What To Look For In May

A local journalist has recently started a monthly feature on what to look out for in the way of wildlife. For this month’s feature, I’m afraid there wasn’t too much to offer in the way of fungi, so I suggested my favourite butterfly - the Green Hairstreak. Today I did my second butterfly survey of the current season at Longshaw, ably assisted by a young volunteer who wanted to learn about butterfly surveying. I was hoping we’d find Green Hairstreaks and was not disappointed. There were lots of them on the usual section of the transect (at least 10), even though there was little else - just one Orange Tip, and a bonus sighting of Green Tiger Beetles. 
I believe today is my 4500 blip birthday, so I should say a big thank you to those at Blip Central who keep us going and to people who drop by to leave stars and hearts, or make a kind comment. Blip remains an important part of my life and is a lovely way to keep a diary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.